Guideline on Halal Food for Muslims

Kylie 0

If you are a Muslim, you’ve probably constantly thought about where to look for halal food near me. But exactly what does the word Halal means? Halal is a word of the Arabic language which means “permissible”. It is utilized about food, amongst other things. Halal word is used for the description of the food that is permitted to Muslims. It is the dietary standards that are specifically commanded by the Quran to Muslims.

Halal is a broad term that is used to categorize different products. These products include cosmetic products, personal care products, food ingredients, pharmaceuticals, and ingredients that come into contact with Muslims.

Halal Food
Halal food is the biggest concern of Muslims around the world. Muslims, living in Islamic countries, make, sell, and distribute halal food. But Muslims, living outside Islamic countries, struggle hard to find halal food.

Islamic Shariah Law categorizes different things as either haram or halal. However, there are some things that are ambiguous. The following guideline is provided to enlighten you about the common halal food that is permitted.

In Islam, every food is halal unless it has been specifically prohibited by Islamic Quranic injunctions. By the official definition, halal food is protected from all kinds of food components that Muslims are not allowed to consume. These foods must be cooked, marinated, stored, or processed in utensils that are free of all kinds of prohibited (haram) food ingredients. Generally, meat from common livestock including goats, poultry, lambs, venison, cows, and game birds, are considered halal for Muslims, if they are slaughtered and prepared according to Muslim laws and practices.

The Reason behind the Consumption of Halal Food
There are many reasons behind the consumption of halal food and injunctions of the same in the holy Quran. Muslims consume halal food in order to maintain a healthy and strong body. Remaining strong, Muslims are capable of earning good knowledge and work toward the welfare of society. Also, Muslims obtain healthy nutrition from permissible foods. For instance, alcohol contains elements that damage the liver and other parts of the body. So, Muslims consume halal food because it gives them sufficient energy without getting intoxicated.

Types of Food that are Not Halal
Most food is halal for Muslims except for intoxicants such as beer, wine, whiskey or spirits, enzymes (only microbial enzymes are permitted for consumption), gelatin of the non-halal source (fish gelatin is allowed), lard, animal lipase, (animal) shortening of non-halal animals, and rennet (only plant, synthetic, or plant is permissible). In addition, meat of carnivorous animals, and meat broth and stock of unspecified ingredients are also not permissible.

So, What is Haram in Islam?
Haram is the opposite of Halal, and it describes things that are not permissible to Muslims. Any food that contains emulsifiers, gelatins, flavors, and enzymes are considered questionable. It is so because their source is not known. Animals that have fangs, and usually prey on other animals are haram for Muslims, for example, tigers and lions. Generally, seafood and fish are also halal except for alligators, frogs, and crocodiles.

Bottom Line
Life is considered sacred in Islam. So, Islam allows Muslims to consume only Halal, nutritious and healthy food.